Assault Lawyer Cincinnati, OH
Trusted Representation for a Range of Assault Charges in Ohio
At L. Patrick Mulligan & Associates, LLC, we represent clients who have been accused of all types of assault and/or battery in Cincinnati and throughout the surrounding areas. We understand that these charges can have a serious and immediate impact on your rights, freedom, and future. Because of this, we work quickly and efficiently to build a solid defense on your behalf. Our Cincinnati assault lawyers have more than 50 years of combined experience, and they are committed to leaving no stone unturned in pursuit of a favorable outcome in your case.
Understanding Ohio Assault Laws
In Ohio, assault laws cover both assault and battery charges. While these are similar offenses, there are several key differences between the two: “assault” involves actually harming or attempting to harm another person (including an unborn child), whereas “battery” involves intentionally or negligently causing bodily injury or unwanted physical contact.
According to Ohio state law, assault charges are broken down into several categories: simple assault, negligent assault, felony assault, and aggravated assault.
- Simple Assault: Intentionally trying to cause or actually causing bodily harm to another person/unborn child or recklessly causing bodily harm to another person/unborn child.
- Negligent Assault: Negligently causing bodily injury/harm to another person with a deadly weapon (such as a firearm).
- Felony Assault: Assault causing harm to an individual or unborn child, or causing harm through use of a deadly weapon.
- Aggravated Assault: Causing “severe” physical injury/harm to another person/unborn child or causing or attempting to cause “severe” physical injury/harm with the use of a deadly weapon and when “under the influence of sudden passion or in a sudden fit of rage.”
Ohio Assault Charges
Assault charges in Ohio can be prosecuted as either misdemeanors or felonies, with penalties ranging according to the type of charge and the severity of the alleged crime.
- Simple Assault (first-degree misdemeanor): up to 6 months in jail & up to $1,000 in fines.
- Negligent Assault (third-degree misdemeanor): up to 60 days in jail & up to $500 in fines.
- Felony Assault (second-degree felony): between 2 - 8 years in prison & up to $2,000 in fines.
- Aggravated Assault (fourth-degree felony): between 18 months - 6 years in prison & up to $5,000 in fines.
Helping Your Avoid a Conviction for Assault in Ohio
If you are facing charges for assault, our team has more than 50 years of combined experience. We can help challenge your assault charges. Our Cincinnati assault attorneys will work relentlessly toward securing a favorable outcome, such as a dismissal or a reduction of charges.