Child support enables children to have financial stability after their parent’s divorce. While both parents must financially support their kids, the noncustodial parent is responsible for providing monthly payments.
Many people believe child support ends when the child turns 18 years old since that is the legal age of becoming an adult. But in Ohio, child support can continue after a child turns 18.
How Long Do You Pay Child Support in Ohio
According to state law, child support continues until the child is both 18 years old and graduates from high school. So, if your child is more than 18 years of age, you must still make payments if your child is enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited high school.
Remember, child support doesn’t automatically end as soon as your child reaches that age. You must bring proof—such as a copy of the diploma or a written document from the high school—to your county’s Child Support Enforcement Agency (CSEA), showing that your child either completed high school.
However, when your child turns 19 years old, child support obligations will end. Again, you must inform the CSEA of the emancipation.
On the other hand, if your child has special needs, child support may continue for the rest of his/her life. Parents can also agree to extend child support through college, but it must be mentioned in the court order.
If you are interested in modifying a current child support order in Dayton, contact L. Patrick Mulligan & Associates, LLC today at (937) 685-7006 and schedule a free case evaluation.