Possession of Marijuana in Ohio
Marijuana remains a controversial subject in America, even though several states have legalized its recreational use. Marijuana possession remains illegal in Ohio, however, and getting caught with it in your possession can result in hefty fines, jail and/or prison time.
Ohio Marijuana Possession Laws
In Ohio, recreational use of marijuana is still illegal. This means that by getting caught in possession of marijuana, you could be fined, but there may not be a threat of imprisonment. This depends on the quantity of marijuana found in your possession.
Marijuana Possession Penalties in Ohio
The severity and duration of punishment for marijuana possession in Ohio depend on how much of the substance you possessed at the time of arrest:
In Ohio, possession of fewer than 100 grams or about 3.5 ounces of marijuana is considered a minor misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to $150 in fines and a possible driver's license suspension for a period of six months to five years. However, you will not receive jail time.
Possession of 100 to 200 grams is considered a misdemeanor in the fourth degree and is punishable by a maximum sentence of 30 days in jail and a maximum fine of $250.
Possession of 200 to 1,000 grams is considered a felony, which is punishable by up to one-year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,500.
Possession of 1,000 to 5,000 grams is considered a third-degree felony, which is punishable by up to 36 months imprisonment and a mandatory fine of $5,000 to $10,000.
Possession of 5,000 to 20,000 grams is considered a third-degree felony, which is punishable by up to 36 months imprisonment and a mandatory fine of $5,000 to $10,000. There is also a presumption that the court will sentence you to prison.
Possession of 20,000 to 40,000 grams is considered a second-degree felony, which is punishable by a mandatory five to eight years imprisonment and a mandatory fine of $7,500 to $15,000.
Possession of more than 40,000 grams is considered a second-degree felony, which is punishable by at eight years imprisonment and a mandatory fine of $10,000 to $20,000.
Charged with a Marijuana Possession in Ohio?
If you’ve been charged with a drug crime, your life isn’t over. Our Dayton drug crime defense attorneys are well-versed in Ohio drug laws and we’re prepared to fight for your future. Don’t let one mistake jeopardize your future prospects.
If you’re facing a drug charge in Ohio, contact L. Patrick Mulligan & Associates, LLC at (937) 685-7006 for a free case consultation today.